The Nigeria Prize for Literature 2012! : 10 Authors make the long list!

The Chairman, panel of judges for this year’s prize, Prof. Francis Abiola Irele, unveiled the names of authors who had made the long list or what they termed as the first short list. View the list below:

1. Ngozi Achebe Onaedo: The Blacksmith’s Daughter

2. Ifeanyi Ajaegbo: Sarah House

3. Jude Dibia: Blackbird

4. Vincent Egbuson: Zhero

5. Adaobi Tricia Nwubani : I Do Not Come to You by Chance

6. Onuora Nzekwu : Troubled Dust

7. Olusola Olugbesan : Only a Canvas

8. Lola Shoneyin : The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives

9. E. E. Sule : Sterile Sky

10. Chika Unigwe : On Black Sister’s Street

The Advisory Board announced that the final shortlist will be released soon.

The 2012 prize is for Prose fiction and comes with a cash prize of $100,000.

About 9aijabooksandmovies

9aijabooksandmovies ( "9B&M") is the ultimate, credible platform that seeks to bridge the gap between Nigerian authors of fictional works and "primarily" Nigerian filmmakers, with a view to creating an upsurge in "adapted works" for the cinemas. It also provides an opportunity for millions of people to gain insight into the works of Nigerian authors and filmmakers. You can send your articles, news,views/opinion, reviews,samples of work to
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s