Shortlist for Commonwealth & Short Story prize 2013!

Twenty-one writers made the Commonwealth Book Prize Shortlist, amongst which are “Sarah House” by Ifeanyi Ajaegbo (Nigeria), “The
sarah's house

Spider King’s Daughter” by Chibundu Onuzo (Nigeria), “The Great Agony and Pure Laughter of the Gods” by Jamala Safari (South Africa) and “Sterile Sky” by E.E Sule (Nigeria) for the African continent. The regional winners will receive £2,500 and the overall winner, £10,000.


the great agony

sterile sky

For the Short Story Prize, 19 writers were shortlisted including “A Killing in the Sun” by Dilman Dila (Uganda), “Fatima Saleh” by Alexander Ikawah (Kenya), “The New Customers” by Julian Jackson (South Africa), “No War is Worth Debating” by Tobenna Nwosu (Nigeria) and “Take Me Home United Road” by S.A Partridge (South Africa). The Short Story Prize is awarded for the first best piece of unpublished fiction with regional winners receiving £1,000 and the overall winner receiving £5,000.

Regional winners will be announced on May 14th, 2013 while the overall winner will be announced at the Hay Festival on May 31st.

May the best woman or man win…what say you?

About 9aijabooksandmovies

9aijabooksandmovies ( "9B&M") is the ultimate, credible platform that seeks to bridge the gap between Nigerian authors of fictional works and "primarily" Nigerian filmmakers, with a view to creating an upsurge in "adapted works" for the cinemas. It also provides an opportunity for millions of people to gain insight into the works of Nigerian authors and filmmakers. You can send your articles, news,views/opinion, reviews,samples of work to
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s