Short List For NLNG Prize For Literature 2013!

The race for the Nigeria Prize for literature 2013 is heating up. From 201 competitors…eleven made the long list and now….there’s the final three; Tade Ipadeola (The Sahara Testaments), Amu Nnadi (through the window of a sandcastle) and Promise Ogochukwu (Wild Letters). The trio have their eyes on the golden prize “$100,000”.The winner of the competition will be unveiled on October 9th, 2013 at a world press conference.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature rotates annually from prose fiction, poetry, to drama and children’s literature. The winners from inception are :
Gabriel Okara for his volume of poetry The Dreamer, His Vision (co-winner 2004 – poetry);
Professor Ezenwa Ohaeto, for his volume of poetry Chants of a Minstrel (co-winner 2004 poetry);
Ahmed Yerima (2005 – drama) for his book Hard Ground;
Mabel Segun (co-winner 2007 – children’s literature) for her collection of short plays Reader’s Theatre;
Prof. Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo (co-winner 2007 – children’s literature) with her book, My Cousin Sammy;
Kaine Agary (2008 – prose) for her novel Yellow Yellow;
Esiaba Irobi (2010 – drama) who clinched the prize posthumously with his book Cemetery Road;
Adeleke Adeyemi (2011 – children’s literature) with his book The Missing Clock
Chika Unigwe (2012 – prose), with her novel, On Black Sisters’ Street.

May the best poet win…wouldn’t you say?

About 9aijabooksandmovies

9aijabooksandmovies ( "9B&M") is the ultimate, credible platform that seeks to bridge the gap between Nigerian authors of fictional works and "primarily" Nigerian filmmakers, with a view to creating an upsurge in "adapted works" for the cinemas. It also provides an opportunity for millions of people to gain insight into the works of Nigerian authors and filmmakers. You can send your articles, news,views/opinion, reviews,samples of work to
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Short List For NLNG Prize For Literature 2013!

  1. dazzling says:

    i wish all finalists the very best!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s